## 22.—Legislatures and Premiers of Alberta, 1935-54, and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1954 Legislatures, 1935-54

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of		
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution		
Aug. 22, 1935 Mar. 21, 1940 Aug. 8, 1944 Aug. 17, 1948 Aug. 5, 1952	8th General Assembly. 9th General Assembly. 10th General Assembly. 11th General Assembly. 12th General Assembly.	4	Feb. 6, 1936 Feb. 20, 1941 Feb. 22, 1945 Feb. 17, 1949 Feb. 19, 1953	Feb. 16, 1940 July 7, 1944 July 16, 1948 June 28, 1952		

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Ministries from 1935-54 were: 6th Ministry, sworn in July 10, 1934, under the leadership of Hon. R. G. Reid; 7th Ministry, sworn in Sept. 3, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. Wm. Aberhart; 8th Ministry, sworn in May 31, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. Ernest C. Manning.

<sup>2</sup> Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1954.

## **Eighth Ministry**

(Party standing at latest General Election, Aug. 5, 1952: 52 Social Credit, 4 Liberals, 2 Progressive Conservatives, 2 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 1 Independent Social Credit.)

Note. - See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment			Date of Present Appointment		
Premier and Provincial Treasurer and Minister of Mines and Minerals Attorney General	HOR. LENEST C. MANNING  HOR. LUCIEN MAYNARD  HOR. ANDERS O. AALBORG  HOR. IVAN CASEY  HOR. W. CROSS  HOR. W. CROSS  HOR. ALFRED J. HOOKE  HOR. C. E. GERHART  HOR. LEONARD C. HALMRAST  HOR. A. WILLMORE	Sept. Jan. Jan. Apr.  June Jan. Nov.	12, 9, 9, 9, 5, 3, 20,	1936 1952 1952 1952 1954 1953 1945 1943 1953 1953	May Sept. June Sept. Sept. Jan. Jan. Apr. May Jan. Nov. Dec. May	16, 1, 9, 9, 9, 5, 3, 20, 8, 5, 10, 27,	1952 1943 1952 1952 1954 1954 1948 1954 1953

## Subsection 10.—British Columbia

The Government of British Columbia has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly.

Colonel the Honourable Clarence Wallace, the present Lieutenant-Governor of the Province, was commissioned to office Oct. 1, 1950. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 98.

The Legislative Assembly, elected for a statutory term of five years, has 48 members.

Members of the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly each receive a sessional allowance of \$2,000 and \$1,000 for expenses. In addition, the Premier receives a salary of \$9,000 and each Member of the Executive Council \$7,500. The Leader of the Opposition has a special allowance of \$2,000 and the Speaker and Deputy Speaker receive allowances of \$1,800 and \$500, respectively.